HomeFrequently Asked Questions

Frequently Asked Questions

What is UNIgreen?

UNIgreen is an Alliance of eight Higher Education Institutions that are committed to promoting excellence in education, research and innovation, and that are active in developing knowledge and solutions that give an answer to the needs of local communities.

The UNIgreen Alliance is working towards becoming the leading European University in the fields of Sustainable Agriculture, Green Biotechnology, and Environmental and Life Sciences.

What does UNIgreen mean?

Our name was formed by combining UNI and green.

UNI stands for UNIversity, UNIty (inspired by the European Union motto “United in Diversity”) and UNIversal (which represents our “For All and With All” mission). On the other hand, green refers to an interdisciplinary group of scientific areas of expertise that will help boost our transition to a resource-efficient, circular, digitised and climate neutral (in other words, a “greener”) society. This is why we say that UNIgreen is both our name, mission and goal. #WeAreUNIgreen

Where is UNIgreen located?

UNIgreen Alliance Members come from eight different European countries:

  • Belgium – University-College of the Province of Liège;
  • Bulgaria – Agricultural University – Plovdiv;
  • France – SupBiotech Engineering School of Biotechnology;
  • Iceland – Agricultural University of Iceland;
  • Italy – University of Modena and Reggio Emilia;
  • Poland – Warsaw University of Life Sciences;
  • Portugal – Polytechnic University of Coimbra;
  • Spain – University of Almería.

How can I enrol in UNIgreen?

We are currently developing different joint, double and multiple degrees and lifelong learning courses that will become gradually available. All information will be released on our website as well as our social media and newsletters. In the meantime, you can become a UNIgreen student by enrolling in one of the eight Higher Education Institutions that belong to the UNIgreen Alliance.