Canada joins Horizon Europe

In a landmark agreement, Canada has joined the expanding group of non-EU countries associated with the EU’s prestigious research and innovation programme, Horizon Europe.

This milestone was celebrated today as Iliana Ivanova, Commissioner for Innovation, Research, Culture, Education and Youth, and François-Philippe Champagne, Canadian Minister of Innovation, Science and Industry, signed the agreement. This partnership allows Canadian researchers and organisations to participate in the programme on equal footing with their EU counterparts.

With this agreement, Canadian entities can now join and lead research consortia, contributing to and benefiting from the collaborative projects under Pillar II of Horizon Europe. This pillar focuses on addressing global challenges such as climate change, energy, the digital economy, and health.

Currently, 19 countries are associated with Horizon Europe, encompassing a diverse range of members from the European Economic Area, acceding and candidate countries, European Neighbourhood Policy countries, and other third countries meeting specific criteria. Recently, formal negotiations concluded with the Republic of Korea, and discussions are ongoing with Switzerland, Japan, and Singapore.

Canada’s association with Horizon Europe marks a significant step forward in global research collaboration, promising to drive innovation and address some of the world’s most pressing challenges through joint efforts and shared expertise.

More details:

Other news from UNIgreen